Friday, January 13, 2012

4 Hatfield Street, Mascot

Photobucket
Do you recognize this house or the family in front of it? Believe it or not this picture was taken where Mascot Library stands today! It was the home of Harriet and Ralph Anderson who purchased the plot in 1933. After WW2 many relatives came to live at 4 Hatfield Street, including a few who lived in a converted garage in the back yard. In her later years, Harriet made an income by taking in male boarders. Most were refugees from Hungary and other European countries. House rules were very strict and Harriet kept a close eye on her renters.

Next door at 2 Hatfield Street – where the entrance to Mascot library is today - lived the Browns and their commercial quantity of chickens. According to Lois Sabine who generously provided all this information, “The Browns sold eggs daily and chickens at Christmas time. These Christmas chickens all had to be prepared quickly as they had no refrigeration. Using blocks of ice wrapped in sacking, Mr. Brown chased and chopped screaming chooks, some of them headless and still running while Mrs. Brown sat in the back doorway trying to stay cool in midsummer heat while plucking feathers which floated off in all directions. She used them for stuffing their mattresses and pillows”

Mrs Hat was another well known personality in the street. She was named so because of the unattractive beige cloche she constantly wore. She was apparently completely bald and always pulled her hat firmly down as close to her neck as possible.

Photobucket
Harriet Anderson in her backyard facing High Street c1966. Her location is approximately where the door to the library’s kitchen is today.

Photobucket
Lois Sabine and her mother, in the backyard of 4 Hatfield Street. The garage behind them was later used as a residence.

No comments:

Post a Comment